Customer group: Guest
Deutsch English
Quick purchase

Please enter the article no. from our catalogue.

Welcome back!

Freydal. The Book of Tournaments of Emperor Maximilian I

Freydal. The Book of Tournaments of Emperor Maximilian I
For a larger view click on the thumbnail
Shipping time: 2-3 Days
Product no.: B-8365-76819
150,00 EUR
7 % VAT incl. excl. Shipping costs



  • Details
  • More images

Products description

First complete reprint of the biggest and most lavish book of tournaments from the Late Middle Ages.

Emperor Maximilian I (1459-1519) treated the spectacle of his tournaments, hastiludes, and mummeries as an art form unto itself. One of modern Europe's most important sovereigns, he shaped the continent's political map well into the 20th century, not least due to his keen awareness of the power of a good public display towards diplomacy and networking.

From 1512 to 1515, Maximilian commissioned a massive, exquisitely detailed and illustrated manuscript of 64 tournaments. The 255 elaborately gilt and silvered miniatures were more than just a collection of jousting scenes from the Habsburg court-from the grand melee and tilting at the lists to foot combat and closing ceremonies-they were an allegorical epic telling the story of an intrepid hero, a knight errant who is no other than Maximilian himself. In the guise of his literary alter ego "Freydal", the Emperor jousted to prove his love for a noble lady. The story ends with the lady agreeing to marry him-she is no other than Mary of Burgundy, whom Maximilian wed in 1477 at Ghent.
Produced under the direct supervision of Maximilian himself, Freydal is an invaluable record of late-medieval chivalry, one which introduces us to the jousts that the Emperor revived and even invented-such as the spectacular Rennen mit geschifften Tartschen, where shields would be catapulted into the sky and disintegrated into metal wedges. To this day, it remains the largest extant tournament book from the Late Middle Ages and the essential source on European courtly festivities of the early modern era. Much too fragile to be on permanent display, the miniatures are safely locked away in the vaults of the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna.

With an introduction by Stefan Krause, director of the Kunsthistorisches Museum's Imperial Armoury.

Hardcover, large format (48.3 x 8.9 x 40.6 cm), 448 pp., 255 full colour tables, num. ill. Text in three languages (English, German, French).

Kundengruppe: Gast
Deutsch English
Schnellkauf

Bitte geben Sie die Artikelnummer aus unserem Katalog ein.

Willkommen zurück!

Freydal. Das Turnierbuch Kaiser Maximilias I.

Freydal. Das Turnierbuch Kaiser Maximilias I.
Für eine größere Ansicht klicken Sie auf das Vorschaubild
Lieferzeit: 2-3 Tage
Art.Nr.: B-8365-76819
150,00 EUR
inkl. 7 % MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten



  • Details
  • Mehr Bilder

Produktbeschreibung

Erster vollständiger Nachdruck des größten und schönsten Turnierbuchs des Mittelalters.

Kaiser Maximilian I. (1459–1519) behandelte ritterliche Turniere als eigene Kunstform. Als einer der wichtigsten europäischen Herrscher der Neuzeit prägte er, versiert in der Diplomatie und sich der Wirkungskraft einer positiven öffentlichen Darstellung schon früh bewusst, die politische Landkarte des Kontinents bis weit ins 20. Jahrhundert.

Zwischen 1512 und 1515 entstand auf Wunsch von Maximilian ein umfangreiches und detailreich illustriertes Manuskript zu 64 Wettkämpfen. Die 255 kunstvoll gold- und silbergehöhten Miniaturen waren mehr als nur eine Sammlung von Turnierszenen am Hofe der Habsburger – Kämpfe zu Fuß, zu Pferd sowie festliche Kostümfeste –, sie waren ein sinnbildliches Epos, das die Geschichte eines unerschrockenen Helden, eines fahrenden Ritters erzählte, der niemand anderes war als Maximilian selbst. In Gestalt seines literarischen Alter Egos „Freydal“ kämpfte der Kaiser, um einer Dame edlen Geblüts seine Liebe zu beweisen. Die Geschichte endet mit der Zustimmung der Dame, ihn zu heiraten – es war Maria von Burgund, die Maximilian 1477 in Gent ehelichte.
Maximilian war an der Entstehung seines Freydal in allen Phasen maßgeblich beteiligt, und so entstand ein unschätzbares Dokument des spätmittelalterlichen Rittertums, mit dem wir in die Turnierkämpfe eintauchen, die der Kaiser wiederaufleben ließ oder gar erfand – wie zum Beispiel das spektakuläre Rennen mit geschifften Tartschen, bei dem Schilde in die Luft katapultiert wurden und dabei Metallplatten wie bei einem Feuerwerk absprangen. Bis heute ist der Freydal das größte erhaltene Turnierbuch des Spätmittelalters und die maßgebliche Quelle zu höfischen Festlichkeiten im Europa der frühen Neuzeit. Viel zu fragil, um ständig ausgestellt zu werden, sind die Miniaturen in den Tresoren des Kunsthistorischen Museums in Wien sicher verwahrt.

Mit einer Einführung von Dr. Stefan Krause, Direktor der Kaiserlichen Hofjagd- und Rüstkammer des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien.

Geb., Großformat (48,3 x 8,9 x 40,6 cm), 448 S., 255 Bildtafeln, zahlr. Abb. Dreisprachig (Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch).